“Escapism” from a Christian Perspective

Thanks to one of my lovely friends from my college days, I recently got to read an amazing article that seemed to really encapsulate all of my ideas about “escapism” and the scorn that seems to come with that term in this day and age.

In his article, “Did Tolkien Waste His Life?,” Jon Bloom discusses Tolkien’s world, how comprehensive it is, and the purpose that it and other stories can have in a Christian life. I have to agree with him that “The best make-believe stories help us better understand the real world. And in our day, such stories are needed more than ever.” Most stories, like Tolkien’s, can help remind us of lessons such as the importance of mercy, sacrifice, and loyalty. They help us to see beyond ourselves in a world full of “selfies.”

I could go on, but I think if you are intrigued, you should read the article yourself! I would love to hear what you think of it.

Leave a comment