Veteran’s Day

It has been interesting to be an educator in South Dakota since the results of this most recent election have come into effect. It is hard to know what to tell my students when they ask me my opinion about what happened. The one thing that I do not hesitate to say, though, is that no matter who a person may want to attain the presidency, it is especially important now to support our country in the midst of this turmoil. We must all remember that, at the core of it all, we are all Americans.

american-flag

This sentiment resonated with me today at my school’s Veteran’s Day program. All of the classes K-12 took part in honoring our warriors, and I could not have been more proud of them. I hope that they understand the sacrifice that these men and women have made, and I hope that they use this reminder to hold onto what is important in the coming months.

Leave a comment